India vs South Africa 2nd Take a look at: Rishabh Pant races to 100 catches, joins MS Dhoni on elite checklist


Group India wicketkeeper Rishabh Pant joined his idol and former India captain MS Dhoni on an elite checklist when he accomplished 100 catches in Take a look at cricket. Pant had earlier shattered Dhoni’s file of quickest to 100 dismissals in Take a look at, grabbed his one centesimal catch on Day 2 of the 2nd Take a look at towards South Africa at Wanderers in Johannesburg on Tuesday (January 4).

The 24-year-old wicketkeeper accomplished Lungi Ngidi’s dismissal off Shardul Thakur by taking a pointy catch on Day 2. Ngidi’s catch within the eightieth over not solely ended South Africa’s innings however the dismissal additionally meant that Pant joined 100-club with Dhoni. Pant is now the fourth Indian wicketkeeper to finish 100 catches on the Take a look at degree.

The Delhi Capitals captain has joined Dhoni, Syed Kirmani and Kiran Extra on this elite checklist. Pant is the forty second wicketkeeper within the all-time checklist to take 100 catches within the longest format. Former Group India skipper Dhoni had bagged 256 catches in his illustrious Take a look at profession. Dhoni is adopted by Kirmani (160), Extra (110) and Pant (100) within the checklist of Indian wicketkeepers with a century of catches.

Pant has achieved the particular feat in his twenty seventh Take a look at look for Group India. He has additionally scored 1608 runs from 27 matches.

Dean Elgar, SA crew supervisor meet match officers to debate Rassie van der Dussen’s dismissal

South Africa skipper Dean Elgar and crew supervisor Khomotso Masubelele met match officers through the lunch break on day two of the second Take a look at to debate a questionable caught behind dismissal of Rassie van der Dussen. In line with ESPNcricinfo web site, Elgar and Masubelele needed to debate the dismissal with on subject umpires Marais Erasmus and Allahudien Palekar, third umpire Adrian Holdstock and match referee Andy Pycroft.

What was mentioned between them stays unclear. Van der Dussen was adjudged caught behind by the on-field umpire on the stroke of lunch off Shardul Thakur however there have been questions on the legality of the catch taken by wicket-keeper Rishabh Pant.

Nonetheless, there was no conclusive proof that the ball bounced earlier than going into Pant’s gloves. Regulation 2.12 requires conclusive proof for an on-field determination to be overturned.

“An umpire might alter any determination supplied that such alteration is made promptly. This aside, an umpire’s determination, as soon as made, is last,” it states.

(with PTI inputs)

.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: